8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
okay first of all i'm new to driving stick. there i said it, i'm a nub! :p i had my car since end of december and i have definitely gotten miles better at driving however some minor stuff i still need answered...

1) so here's a scenario...
i'm pulling up to my garage and i'm in 2nd gear going around 5mph in without gas (that's the lowest mph i can achieve in 2nd gear w/o stalling). then i have to start creeping slowly (to not hit the house wall in front of me of course) so i press in the clutch and get the miles around 1-4mph while in 2nd. now correct me if i'm wrong but is that not bad for the clutch (riding?). shouldn't i just downshift into 1st and go in then? but everyone keeps telling me that you should never go from 2nd to 1st unless your at a complete stop and starting up again. jeebuz i'm confused.

2) this one kind of links in with #1. okay so when i hit a speed bump i try to stay in 2nd gear and when i slow down alot (2-4mph) i just clutch in. a different friend told me he just shifts into 1st all the time on speed bumps but then aren't you again not supposed to downshift from 2nd to 1st????

3) when i reverse i clutch in, shift to R, then slowly let go of the clutch and then reverse out slowly out my garage. i don't even have to gas it for if i do i'll be reversing out way to fast, and of course i never get past the friction point cuz i'll just stall in reverse. BASICALLY, i just use the clutch for reversing. Isn't that also slipping the clutch so it's bad or is that normal procedure (wear and tear) for regular reversing?

help plz. k thnx.

·
Registered
513 Posts
okay first of all i'm new to driving stick. there i said it, i'm a nub! :p i had my car since end of december and i have definitely gotten miles better at driving however some minor stuff i still need answered...

1) so here's a scenario...