8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As a contractor I need to go where the work is, and right now there doesn't seem to be much here in the Boston area. Of the three contracts that I'm currently considering (and am being considered for), the closest will require me to drive some 500 miles per week and the furthest (and oddly enough the most likely) will require more like 800 miles per week. Assuming I take the latter, I'm thinking that I'll be opting for a new Civic in the next month or two.

So, with that in mind, I went to the web site of every Honda dealership within a 50 mile radius of my house, looking for a 4-Door Civic EX-L 5-Speed (non-Nav). Guess what I came up with? Yup, you got it, nothing. Not a single car. Every EX-L (of which I found very few) had an Automatic transmission, and about half had Nav. To make matters worse, I didn't even find a single regular EX 5-Speed either.

Are the three pedal versions that rare or are they so popular that the dealerships can't keep them in stock? Hmmm, maybe I should be asking if they even exist. :(

·
Registered
932 Posts
I would assume that since that the EX models are purchased for economy and not for the sports car minded buyer, the automatic is a better seller. Therefore, the sticks are probably fewer in numbers produced....JMHO

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jay Kincannon said:
I would assume that since that the EX models are purchased for economy and not for the sports car minded buyer, the automatic is a better seller. Therefore, the sticks are probably fewer in numbers produced....JMHO