8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, i'm new here. I've been lurking and reading a lot. I'm not a newbie to the vehicular experience, I'm 50 and have been working on cars and building engines for 30+ years. Avid drag racer, and have worked on a fuel funny car team. Even had a car on display for 2019 PRI in Indy.

I have three civics (2006, 2008, and a 2010), and my wife drives an 07 Pilot.

I love these cars, but the one is a real PITA. The current snafu is that the 2006 civic EX sedan has the TPMS light on. Everything I read says that an 06 doesn't have it. Just for fun, had a friend with a good scanner check the wheel speed sensors and the LR was reading high, so I replaced it. They all read the same now. Did it have any effect on the light being on? Hell no.

If this 2006 doesn't have TPMS, why is "TPMS" showing on my dash and how can I get it to go away??? Curious for your responses.

If I have this in the wrong forum area, please move it.

thank you folks!!

·
Registered
06FG2 736.72whp/[email protected] e85/ FA1-R18 Daily FTW
5,748 Posts
As far as I know the 2006 should not have the tpms light. My first question would be are you the original owner? If not is it possible someone replaced the tachometer to a newer one to prompt the light being on.

·
Registered
958 Posts
Is the 2006 a US car? Not imported from a different country? 2008 was the first year Civic's came with TPMS in the US.

Either way I'd recommend doing this. No more dumb TPMS light.
Part 1
Part 2

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok, so NO I am not the original owner, I got it about 3 months ago. It is a US built car.