8th Generation Honda Civic Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for starting another thread on this, but the other threads are just too damn long and bouncing all over.

I'm new to the FA5 (but owned many cars, modded and raced them)
My best time on this car is in the 14.80s, 2.30 60ft, 0 - 60 6.7 seconds (i use my gtech pro at the track also, once it's calibrated correctly, it's very accurate).
That's without powershifting, 1/2 tank of gas, and the spare in the trunk, 70 degrees out, normal humidity, very slight wind (1 - 3mph) normal track condtions...

Now in order to get this car below 14.1 stock, we have to make some assumptions here. First, i was looking at 0 - 60 times of most cars that are 14.2 or better, and they're all below 6 seconds ! Example : 1995 LT1 Camaro, 0 - 60 5.7 secs, 1/4 mile 14.1 ! Dodge SRT-4 0 - 60 in 5.6 secs, 1/4mile 14.1 (maybe a 13.8 with an awesome driver here) but i always saw 14's with these cars stock at the track. Many cars you can find with similar times.
So how does a 100% stock SI achieve 0 - 60 in the 5's and a quarter mile below 14.1 ?

I was launching @ 3500 rpms and slipping the clutch some, and shifting rather quickly, but not powershifting. So am I too assume that if I get a better launch ( in the 2.2s) and powershift, reduce some weight, this will knock off .6 ~ .7 seconds off my time ? Did any of you change your PSI in the front and back tires ? At the strip downwind ? :) I know there are many variables, but it's rather difficult to understand how this car can achieve such a time ! :driving:

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
simple. the track he ran it on is in maryland.
famous for "fast" cars. lol @ marylands tracks.