Mystery Misfire on Cylinder 1 and 4 1.8L 2006 civic - 8th Generation Honda Civic Forum
8thCivic.com

Go Back   8th Generation Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2019, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)

Mechanic1 has their car in neutral right now
Mystery Misfire on Cylinder 1 and 4 1.8L 2006 civic (SOLVED)

Hi Guys, I have been fixing cars for 25 years and this one has really stumped me. I have a 2006 honda civic 1.8 DX. I recently replaced the original motor with the dreaded cracked block with a motor out of a 2010 civic. The swap went fine except for the engine misfires completely on cylinder 1 and a bit on 4 whenever I go past 3000rpm. It runs perfectly at any rpm under 3000 and very quiet and smooth. The replacement engine only has about six thousand original miles or 10 000kms. I've replaced the plugs and the coils and the injectors. I've also replaced the wiring harness. I've done a compression test and I am at 180psi for all cylinders equally. At Idle it's perfect. Before I replace the computer, I'm wondering if anyone has run into this problem or something similar. Am I overlooking something? I don't think the valves need to be adjusted because at 2500RPM it's perfect. At 3000 cylinder 1 is misfiring. I did a smoke test with my smoke machine to see if there were any vacuum leaks and nothing wrong there. The oil is brand new.

Last edited by Mechanic1; 06-23-2019 at 12:46 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2019, 06:35 AM   #2 (permalink)