The Ultimate TMPS Thread - All threads merged - Page 10 - 8th Generation Honda Civic Forum
8thCivic.com

Go Back   8th Generation Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Mechanical Problems & Technical Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2007, 11:28 AM   #181 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
thedamaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Bend, IN
Age: 36
Posts: 376
Respect my authoritah!
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgFA View Post
That is true for people who lives in area that has winter. Im from socal and we pretty much have one weather here.
True, as long as the new wheel is TPMS compatible you could just transfer the sensors.
thedamaja is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2007, 11:28 AM   #182 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada eh!
Posts: 929
Tod
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedamaja View Post
You could do that but what a hassle each winter to mount and dismount tires to get the sensors back and forth.

The Tire Rack supplies the correct OEM sensor from Honda same as you buy at the dealer. The customer just needs to get them initialized to there vehicle.
You are right, it is kind of a pain, but technically you don't have to dismount the tire. You can just let out the air and break the bead and reach in and grab the sensors and put them on your other wheels, that is if you have access to a tire machine... A tire shop may do this for you for a nominal fee, it is much easier / faster than actually dismounting the whole set. (just don't drop the sensor in the tire cuz then you do have to dismount it, don't ask me how I know...)
Solo2EG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #183 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
thedamaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Bend, IN
Age: 36
Posts: 376
Respect my authoritah!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo2EG View Post
You are right, it is kind of a pain, but technically you don't have to dismount the tire. You can just let out the air and break the bead and reach in and grab the sensors and put them on your other wheels, that is if you have access to a tire machine... A tire shop may do this for you for a nominal fee, it is much easier / faster than actually dismounting the whole set. (just don't drop the sensor in the tire cuz then you do have to dismount it, don't ask me how I know...)
True you don't have to dismount but it seemed a tad simpler than explaining the whole thing like you just did. Besides it still costs your time and money to have this done every fall and spring.

Last edited by thedamaja; 12-12-2007 at 12:54 PM.
thedamaja is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 12:12 PM   #184 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedamaja View Post
True, as long as the new wheel is TPMS compatible you could just transfer the sensors.
I guess that would be the next question, which wheels would have the TPMS compatibility. I'm guessing as long as you can select it at tirerack or discounttire and you put there that your car has TPMS that they are TPMS compatible? Its just a wild guess. Cause i was informed that the FN01R-C is not TPMS compatible (Rims the I like).
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 12:54 PM   #185 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
thedamaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Bend, IN
Age: 36
Posts: 376
Respect my authoritah!
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgFA View Post
I guess that would be the next question, which wheels would have the TPMS compatibility. I'm guessing as long as you can select it at tirerack or discounttire and you put there that your car has TPMS that they are TPMS compatible? Its just a wild guess. Cause i was informed that the FN01R-C is not TPMS compatible (Rims the I like).
Tire Rack will only list the correct TPMS compatible wheels when you input your vehicle. I'm not sure about Discount Tire.
thedamaja is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 01:45 PM   #186 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
Oh ok... So pretty much the ones that shows up would be the one that is TPMS compatible.

kngo28: Any update on the dealer re-program of the TPMS?
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 01:59 PM   #187 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kngo28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Walser Honda
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Khoa
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgFA View Post
Oh ok... So pretty much the ones that shows up would be the one that is TPMS compatible.

kngo28: Any update on the dealer re-program of the TPMS?
nothing yet I'll call the dealership later today and see what's going on.
kngo28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 02:04 PM   #188 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
Ok. I hope they find a solution for this. I wish its as easy as selecting the wheels and then putting the TPMS in the new wheels.
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 02:13 PM   #189 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kngo28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Walser Honda
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Khoa
Alright, I just got off the phone with the dealership. They said they can reset it but it will cost $120..Ouch, at this point im feeling like I'm really getting hosed. I spend $255 on sensors and now I gotta spend $120 to get them reset. I have 2 sets of tires to rotate seasonally that means I gotta spend at least $240 dollars a year. Seriously. WTF. I'm not happy with this new TPMS crap, I will call around all the local dealers to see if they have different prices. I'll keep everyone updated.
kngo28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 02:42 PM   #190 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kngo28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Walser Honda
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Khoa
Ok, I just called a second dealership and got a much better price. The price they gave me is $56. For those who live in MN, the first dealership I talked to is Burnsville Honda, $120. Second dealership I talked to is Richfield/Bloomington Honda, $56. I tried to call Buerkle Honda and Brookdale Honda, no one picked up in service. I'm just gonna assume that $56 will be the best price so now I'm just debating if it would be worth reseting.
kngo28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 02:48 PM   #191 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 650
Do the new honda accords reset themselves too?
mhuynh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 02:57 PM   #192 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
Wow! Thats pretty pricey... I think it would be better if you just transfer the OEM TPMS from one wheel to the other if it fits since you're going to go through the same hassle by re-programing the TPMS every time. Plus I think it would be cheaper... (Maybe)
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:05 PM   #193 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
FusionSi11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: home of the BULLS/BEARS/CUBS and Manila
Posts: 959
Reese
wait...let me get this right. so each time you have to rotate your tires, you have to pay to re-program the TPMS??? im asking because my gf just bought an 08 CR-V for her parents last night so it has TPMS as a feature for all 08s.
FusionSi11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:09 PM   #194 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
Not on a tire rotation but if you are planning on putting some aftermarket wheels, then thats the time that either you get new TPMS and have them reprogram or transfer the OEM TPMS to the new wheels. Either way, you might end up paying extra.
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:16 PM   #195 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
FusionSi11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: home of the BULLS/BEARS/CUBS and Manila
Posts: 959
Reese
gotcha..thanks homie. i wouldnt have been too happy if we had to pay each time the tires are rotated.
FusionSi11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:25 PM   #196 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kngo28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Walser Honda
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Khoa
Quote:
Originally Posted by FusionSi11 View Post
wait...let me get this right. so each time you have to rotate your tires, you have to pay to re-program the TPMS??? im asking because my gf just bought an 08 CR-V for her parents last night so it has TPMS as a feature for all 08s.
no, each time I switch sets of tires. I have 2 sets of tires, one for winter and one for summer. Each set has its own sensors in which they need to be reset in order to sync with each set.
kngo28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:27 PM   #197 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
No one would be buying those TPMS if that is the case. Hahaha! Right now, the only real hassle for me is finding wheels that I want that is TPMS compatible. I dont mind putting my OEM TPMS on the new wheel since I really dont need to switch out wheels for different season (SoCal).
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:34 PM   #198 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kngo28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Walser Honda
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Khoa
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgFA View Post
Not on a tire rotation but if you are planning on putting some aftermarket wheels, then thats the time that either you get new TPMS and have them reprogram or transfer the OEM TPMS to the new wheels. Either way, you might end up paying extra.
Also keep in mind that your oem sensors may not fit on after market rims as shown in the collegehills honda video on the 06-07 hfp rims.
kngo28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 03:43 PM   #199 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
kngo28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Walser Honda
Age: 32
Posts: 415
Khoa
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgFA View Post
No one would be buying those TPMS if that is the case. Hahaha! Right now, the only real hassle for me is finding wheels that I want that is TPMS compatible. I dont mind putting my OEM TPMS on the new wheel since I really dont need to switch out wheels for different season (SoCal).
bah I'm slow LOL you know what's going on
kngo28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 04:35 PM   #200 (permalink)
Broke Baller

 
pgFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego/Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 109,128
Pogi
Yeah I saw that Video of them putting the sensor on the 06-07 HFP and it has a little gap between the wheel and the sensor. But if I were you, I would check how much it would cost you just to move the sensor from one wheel to another. It might be cheaper.
pgFA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 8th Generation Honda Civic Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorcycle Thread (threads merged) laughoutlloyd8 Garage 1988 09-02-2014 02:40 PM
Your ultimate car? (merged threads) Slow_si Garage 868 08-19-2010 07:44 PM
The Ultimate Break-In Question and Answer Thread!! *Merged* Tigermask44 Garage 1100 04-22-2010 09:09 PM
Galaxy Grey thread (merged threads) 06CivEXJon Introduction & Pictures 334 08-02-2009 04:24 PM
The Guess Sickyute New Car Thread (Threads Merged) CivicCoupe06 Garage 292 07-29-2007 12:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
copyright 8thcivic.com - all rights reserved