Autocross Noob Questions. Would appreciate some help! - 8th Generation Honda Civic Forum
8thCivic.com

Go Back   8th Generation Honda Civic Forum > Honda Civic Technical > Autocross & Sanctioned Drag Racing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)

Brian
Autocross Noob Questions. Would appreciate some help!

I've been looking into getting into autocross the last couple of years and I've got some questions I was hoping you guys could answer. I've got an 08 fa5 (which is a DD) with the typical bolt on mods. I'll just list off my major questions. I've done my fair share of searching threads here on 8thcivic, but I figured I would just see what the community had to say. So, I apologize if these questions have already been asked. Thanks!

-I've seen that the SCCA offers classes a few times a year around my region (I'm in the southeast), is this worth doing? I'm a good driver in my own opinion, but I have no experience racing as I am not the type to risk my life on the public roads.

-Is the SCCA the way to go in terms of Autocross, or are there better/equal clubs? For the SCCA members, whats the best route to take to get into SCCA racing?

-What mods would all you Autocrossers suggest? I've been looking into going the turbo route, but honestly I have no experience with such things and would probably get myself killed. It seems like the best mods for this type of racing is a little power, but mostly tires/wheels/suspension.

-How expensive is it really? I know there are yearly and entry fees but what are the realistic expenses in all of this? How quickly do you guys blow through tires?

My current mods include:
Skunk2 70mm Exhaust
Skunk2 RH- (also, will this be legal?)
Fujita SRI
Boomba Racing Mounts
Flashpro with E-tune
Falken Azenis Pt-722 (All season)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2011, 12:09 AM   #2 (permalink)